Research Guides: CJ 3300: Victimology: Domestic Violence/ Sexual Assault/ Special Victim Groups

Search Strategies

Whether you're using OneSearch or another library database, learning a few key search strategies will make your search process more effective. When using search engines like Google, you can type in whole questions or long phrases. But library databases are designed differently and require adjusting our search process. Use the following examples to help you brainstorm search terms and to find information relevant to your topic!

Search Terms

"domestic abuse"
victim*
"domestic violence"
"intimate partner violence"
"wife abuse"
"marital violence"
"abused wom?n"
"battered wom?n"
"neglect* child*"
"neglect* parent*"
"spouse abuse"
gender
"male-centered culture"
abuse
fear
PTSD
"emotional abuse"
"sexual abuse"
"sexual trauma"
"sexual violence"
"sexual assault"
rape
mistreatment
maltreatment
"sex work"
"victim blaming"
"support services"

Searches

("sexual abuse" OR "sexual trauma" OR "sexual violence" OR "sexual assault" OR rape) AND "college students"
("child neglect" OR "child maltreatment") AND Covid-19
("male victim" OR "battered men") AND report* OR disclosure
technology AND "domestic violence"
"digital services" AND victims and survivors
"domestic violence" AND (child* OR kid)
"Male-centered culture" AND abuse

Databases

OneSearch [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Videos. Audio Recordings.
OneSearch is the default search on the Fulton Library’s homepage. Includes the library’s books and videos, articles from many library databases, and more.
Criminal Justice [Gale] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Informs the research process for those studying law, law enforcement, terrorism, homeland security, forensic science, and more. Contains content from more than 250 journals.
ScienceDirect Journals [Elsevier] This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on the life sciences, physical sciences, medical sciences, and technology, with access to scientific, technical, and medical research. Includes journal articles, book chapters, and publications.
APA PsycInfo [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This database focuses on psychology and explores topics like psychiatry, pharmacology, linguistics, treatments, counseling, addiction, and more. Contains APA journals and articles

Books

Returning Home: Intimate Partner Violence and Reentry (Ebook) by Matasha L. Harris
Publication Date: 2015
Formerly incarcerated African Americans face numerous challenges when returning home from prison. A major challenge that many formerly incarcerated offenders encounter is negotiating relationships, especially with intimate partners following periods of incarceration. For many African American men and women during reentry, intimate partner violence frequently becomes a problem. Through intensive interviews, Harris documents twenty-nine formerly incarcerated African American men's and women's experiences with intimate partner violence. This book highlights principles and elements of restorative justice as a useful framework to address the issue of intimate partner violence among this group.
Restorative Justice for Domestic Violence Victims (Ebook) by Marilyn Fernandez
Publication Date: 2010
Restorative Justice for Domestic Violence Victims uses a rich and detailed set of interviews and complementary survey data to make a strong case for introducing restorative justice principles into the existing menu of services for victims of domestic violence. Guided primarily by concerns of victim safety, domestic violence theorists and practitioners have been wary of introducing restorative justice principled programs in the domestic violence arena. While remaining cognizant of safety concerns, Marilyn Fernandez weaves together the theories, concepts, and research in the restorative justice and domestic violence traditions and uses the voices of domestic violence victims to make a case for restorative justice programs. In the process, Fernandez helps readers, academicians, students, and practitioners, understand the complex nature of domestic violence and the lives of its victims.
Victim Advocacy in the Courtroom: Persuasive Practices in Domestic Violence and Child Protection Cases (Ebook) by Mary Lay Schuster and Amy D. Propen
Publication Date: 2011
This volume examines sentencing hearings in criminal court and the presentation of victim impact statements, as well as child protection cases in juvenile court and the recommendations of guardians ad litem (GALs). Through interviews, observations, and textual analysis, all deeply grounded in an innovative court watch program, the authors illuminate the most effective persuasive practices of victim advocates and GALs as they help protect the rights and needs of victims of domestic violence, sexual assault, and child abuse. Mary Lay Schuster and Amy D. Propen offer nuanced interpretations of these strategies in the courtroom setting and provide an understanding of how to develop successful advocacy for vulnerable parties in the legal arena.
No Visible Bruises (Print Book) by Rachel Louise Snyder
Publication Date: 2019
An award-winning journalist's intimate investigation of the true scope of domestic violence, revealing how the roots of America's most pressing social crises are buried in abuse that happens behind closed doors. We call it domestic violence. We call it private violence. Sometimes we call it intimate terrorism. But whatever we call it, we generally do not believe it has anything at all to do with us, despite the World Health Organization deeming it a "global epidemic." In America, domestic violence accounts for 15 percent of all violent crime, and yet it remains locked in silence, even as its tendrils reach unseen into so many of our most pressing national issues, from our economy to our education system, from mass shootings to mass incarceration to #MeToo. We still have not taken the true measure of this problem.
Abetting Batterers (Print Book) by Andrew R. Klein and Jessica L. Klein
Publication Date: 2016
Whatever the number, domestic violence victims remain far too many for a preventable crime. More and more victims of intimate partner violence are reaching out to police, prosecutors and judges only to be sorely disappointed, even betrayed. While laws and programs have multiplied over the last few decades to address domestic violence, the country is getting safer for almost everyone except for women who have, or have had, abusive male intimate partners. Abetting Batterers reveals the troubling pattern of inattention and incompetence that compromises the safety of women and encourages their male abusers to continue their abuse and violence.
Working with the Trauma of Rape and Sexual Violence (Ebook) by Sue J. Daniels
Publication Date: 2016
The trauma caused by rape and sexual assault can often be further compounded by unthinking or insensitive comments from people who may judge, disbelieve or disparage the victim. This authoritative resource draws together advice for all people in the helping professions on how to work with victims of rape and sexual violence. The wide-ranging topics cover the effects of rape, male rape, childhood sexual abuse, sex trafficking and prostitution, and sexually transmitted infections, giving best practice advice on how to offer effective and compassionate support to help survivors.
Campus Sexual Assault (Ebook) by Lauren J. Germain
Publication Date: 2016
Survivors of campus sexual assault share the stories of how they confronted and overcame the trauma of being attacked. A 2014 report issued by the White House Council on Women and Girls included the alarming statistic that one in five female college students in the United States experiences some form of campus sexual assault. Despite more than fifty years of anti-rape activism and over two decades of federal legislation regarding campus sexual violence, sexual assault on American college and university campuses remains prevalent, underreported, and poorly understood. A principal reason for this lack of understanding is that the voices of women who have experienced campus sexual assault have been largely absent from academic discourse about the issue.
Tainted Witness (EBook) by Leigh Gilmore
Publication Date: 2017
Tainted Witness examines how gender, race, and doubt stick to women witnesses as their testimony circulates in search of an adequate witness. Judgment falls unequally upon women who bear witness, as well-known conflicts about testimonial authority in the late twentieth and early twenty-first centuries reveal. Women's testimonial accounts demonstrate both the symbolic potency of women's bodies and speech in the public sphere and the relative lack of institutional security and control to which they can lay claim. Each testimonial act follows in the wake of a long and invidious association of race and gender with lying that can be found to this day within legal courts and everyday practices of judgment, defining these locations as willfully unknowing and hostile to complex accounts of harm. Bringing together feminist, literary, and legal frameworks, Leigh Gilmore provides provocative readings of what happens when women's testimony is discredited. She demonstrates how testimony crosses jurisdictions, publics, and the unsteady line between truth and fiction in search of justice.

Web Resources

Start by Believing Video
Learn to Recognize Domestic Violence and Get Help
Utah Code of Criminal Procedure
Utah Courts: Protective Orders
This webpage is about cohabitant, dating violence and sexual violence protective orders. It explains what a protective order is, the different types of protective orders available, how to ask for one, how to respond to a request for one, and how to ask for a change to an existing protective order. Some people call this kind of order a "restraining order," but the legal term is "protective order."
Utah Department of Public Safety - Victim Rights & Services
Lists Utah victims rights and services available.
Utah Domestic Violence Coalition (UDVC)
Free and confidential support for victims and survivors of domestic and intimate partner violence.
Substance Use and Mental Health (SUMH) Victim Advocate
SUMH’s victim advocate provides a trained, community-based, trauma-informed voice to provide support and assistance to crime victims involved with the Board of Pardons and Parole (BOPP). The victim advocate can provide support and assistance with a variety of activities.
Utah Coaltion Against Sexual Assault
Utah information and services for sexual assault victims and volunteers.
UVU Title IX
The University has an obligation to take immediate and effective steps to eliminate gender discrimination, including sexual harassment, sexual assault, and sexual violence.
UVU Victim Support Services
Our Victims Navigator is a confidential resource on campus who is able to provide trauma-informed advocacy and navigation for survivors.
UVU Police Department Victim Services
The UVU Police Department has a full-time victim advocate that provides victim services to all UVU students, faculty, and campus community.
RAINN (Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network)
RAINN is the nation's largest anti-sexual violence organization. RAINN created and operates the National Sexual Assault Hotline (800.656.HOPE, online.rainn.org y rainn.org/es) in partnership with more than 1,000 local sexual assault service providers across the country and operates the DoD Safe Helpline for the Department of Defense. RAINN also carries out programs to prevent sexual violence, help survivors, and ensure that perpetrators are brought to justice.

Ask Your Librarian

Karen Sturtevant

she/her

Contact:

Email Karen
FL413, Fulton Library

801.863.7214

Subjects: Criminal Justice, Emergency Services