Research Guides: CJ 3300: Victimology: Restorative Justice

Introduction

“Restorative justice is a process to involve, to the extent possible, those who have a stake in an offense and to collectively identify and address harms, needs and obligations, in order to heal and put things right as possible.”

— Howard Zehr, PhD, The Little Book of Restorative Justice, 2002

Search Strategies

Whether you're using OneSearch or another library database, learning a few key search strategies will make your search process more effective. When using search engines like Google, you can type in whole questions or long phrases. But library databases are designed differently and require adjusting our search process. Use the following examples to help you brainstorm search terms and to find information relevant to your topic!

Search Terms

"restorative justice"
"restorative justice theory"
victim*
offender
anger*
repair
retribution
forgiveness
self-forgiveness
challeng*
religion
recidivism
gender
"reduce incarceration"
prison
police
"human rights"
race
"restorative practice"
"restorative approach"
"social justice"

Searches

"restorative justice" AND crime
"restorative justice" AND (repair OR forgiveness)
"restorative justice" AND "domestic violence"

OneSearch [EBSCO]
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Videos. Audio Recordings.
OneSearch is the default search on the Fulton Library’s homepage. Includes the library’s books and videos, articles from many library databases, and more.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts [United States DOJ]
Partially peer reviewed. No full-text content. Open access.
Focuses on the field of criminal justice, including corrections, courts, crime, law enforcement, and more. Contains summaries of federal, state, and local government reports, as well as articles, books, research reports, and unpublished research.

Books

Sustainability of Restorative Justice (Ebook) by Paula Kenny and Liam Leonard
Publication Date: 2014
By analyzing six case studies of restorative conferencing events, the authors aim to address the salient question of how restorative conferencing for young offenders can facilitate an exchange process whereby forms of reparation and social regulation may be achieved. The restorative justice process has much to offer, and the authors argue that this concept, particularly as it centers on the greater use of non custodial sentences, will not only bring about changes in the law but also have significant implications for social regulation.
Understanding Restorative Justice: How Empathy Can Close the Gap Created by Crime (Ebook) by Pete Wallis
Publication Date: 2014
This book analyzes how restorative justice nurtures empathy, explores key themes such as responsibility, shame, forgiveness and closure.The core notion of the book is that when a crime is committed, it separates people, creating a 'gap'. This can only be reduced or closed through information and insight about the other person, which have the potential to elicit empathy and compassion from both sides. The book explores this extraordinary journey from harm to healing using the structure of a timeline: from an offense, through the criminal justice process, and into the heart of the restorative meeting.
Until We Reckon: Violence, Mass Incarceration, and a Road to Repair (Print Book) by Danielle Sered
Publication Date: 2021
Danielle Sered offers pragmatic solutions that take the place of prison, meeting the needs of survivors, and creating pathways for people who have committed violence to repair harm. Sered argues that reckoning is owed not only on the part of individuals who have caused violence, but also by our nation for its overreliance on incarceration to produce safety at a great cost to communities, survivors, racial equity, and the very fabric of our democracy.
Crime, Victims, and Justice: Essays on Principles and Practice (Ebook) by Hendrik Kaptein and Marijke Malsch (Editors)
Publication Date: 2004
Victims of crime are still marginalized in criminal law practice even though an increasingly large number of legislatures have introduced reforms on their behalf. This collection of papers from some of the leading experts in the field sets out to provide a better understanding of the problems associated with restorative justice, with the aim of improving criminal law in the area. Questions asked include whether retribution may be plausibly reinterpreted as restoration by offenders on behalf of victims?
Human Rights and Restorative Justice (Ebook) by Theo Gavrielide
Publication Date: 2018
Human rights and restorative justice are rarely brought under the same spotlight despite their normative similarities. In fact, this gap becomes even more apparent when put in the context of policy and practice internationally. Firstly, there is a developing gap between public perception and evidence-based depiction of crime. Secondly, scholarly debates are rarely reflected in criminal justice policy and legislation. This failure has an impact on recidivism, the spiraling costs of penal interventions, but most importantly on how we view our interpersonal and inter-communal relationships.
Restorative Theory in Practice (Ebook) by Belinda Hopkins
Publication Date: 2015
Restorative practice is an innovative approach to thinking about and addressing conflict and bullying, as well as disruptive, challenging, and criminal behaviour. The approach is increasingly used to transform the culture of organisations, institutions, and services and the way people communicate with one another. In this book ten practitioners describe a restorative encounter as seen through the lens of their own theoretical model. The book's unique structure is modelled on a restorative practice known as Circle Time, comprising of a Check-in, a Main Activity, and a Check-out.
Offenders No More (Ebook) by Theo Gavrielides
Publication Date: 2015
Offender rehabilitation theory and practice have traditionally focused on curing "offenders" of their deviant tendencies by changing their habits, opportunities, personality and outlook on life. Rehabilitation is now seen by many as a threat to offenders' rights and humanitarian principles. Alternative visions of justice like restorative justice are being implemented, which is based on the foundation of promoting human goods in the pursuit of restoration of harm and the correction of deviant behaviour. Restorative justice practices, such as mediation, circles and conferencing bring to the fore states of affairs, activities and experiences that are strongly associated with well-being and higher level of personal satisfaction and social functioning.

Web Resources

Office of Justice Programs
The Office of Justice Programs is a federal agency that provides federal leadership, grants, training, technical assistance and other resources to improve the nation’s capacity to prevent and reduce crime, assist victims and enhance the rule of law by strengthening the criminal and juvenile justice systems. Its six program offices support state and local crime-fighting efforts, fund thousands of victim service programs, help communities manage sex offenders, address the needs of youth in the system and children in danger, and provide vital research and data.
National Center for Restorative Justice
The National Center for Restorative Justice is focused on training those interested in changing their relationship with conflict, in-particular we serve those that serve youth.
Juvenile Court Restorative Dialogue Programs (Utah State Courts)
The Utah Administrative Office of the Courts, through the Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) Department, and the Utah Juvenile Court have created several programs which allow victims of crime, juvenile offenders, schools, and other community stakeholders to participate in face to face dialogue to discuss the harm caused by crime or truancy and ways to repair the harm.

Ask Your Librarian

Karen Sturtevant

she/her

Contact:

Email Karen
FL413, Fulton Library

801.863.7214

Subjects: Criminal Justice, Emergency Services