Research Guides: Entrepreneurship: Home

Getting Started

This research guide is designed to help students researching entrepreneurship get started finding articles, books, and other resources in this subject area. It is organized by subtopics using the green navigation bar.

Most Used Resources

Market Research and Competitive Analysis (SBA)
This is a good starting place for new businesses. It is a resource by the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) on how to do market research and competitive analysis to find customers for your business and make your business unique.

Handbook of Market Research (Ebook) by Christian Homburg, Martin Klarmann, and Arnd Vomberg (Eds)
Publication Date: 2021
In this handbook, scholars outline the current state-of-the-art of quantitative and qualitative market research. They discuss focal approaches to market research and guide readers in their real-life applications. Data-related topics comprise chapters on experimental design, survey research methods, international market research, panel data fusion, and endogeneity. Method-oriented chapters look at a wide variety of data analysis methods relevant to market research, including chapters on regression, structural equation modeling (SEM), conjoint analysis, and text analysis. Application chapters focus on specific topics relevant for market research such as customer satisfaction, customer retention modeling, return on marketing, and return on price promotions.
Market Research in Practice (Print Book) by Paul Hague
Publication Date: 2022
Learn the fundamentals of market research from planning a project and executing it, what tools to use, through to analysis, and presenting the findings. Market Research in Practice provides a practical and robust introduction to the subject, providing a clear step-by-step guide to managing market research and how to effectively obtain the most reliable results. Written by an industry expert with over 35 years of practical experience in running a successful market research agency. Tips and advice are included throughout to ground the concepts in business reality. This text also benefits from real-world examples from companies including Adidas, Marks & Spencer, Grohe, and General Motors.
Industry surveys / CFRA powered by data from S&P Global (Print) by CFRA
Publication Date: 2010-Present
CFRA's financial data provider is S&P Global Market Intelligence. The company is one of the world’s largest providers of independent financial and investment research and their industry surveys are some of the most regarded intelligence on the market. CFRA's Industry Surveys cover industry trends, forecasts, major players and market share data, key ratios, and statistics.

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Includes the Fulton Library’s books and videos, articles from many library databases, and more. OneSearch is the default search on the library’s homepage.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings, assembled by its research team from economic, demographic, and government data.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers economics, business, accounting, management, and related subjects. Includes academic journals, trade publications, company annual reports, dissertations, and working papers, plus country profiles and economic forecasts.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Get access to quantitative data (statistics, forecasts, studies, dossiers and industry reports) on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Includes current infographics and many links to original full text reports.
Business Insights: Global (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Statistical & Research Data.
Dedicated to international business topics and deep research coverage of global economies. Provides detailed company and industry profiles, company histories, industry essays, case studies, scholarly journals, and more.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
No peer-reviewed content. Continuously updated database with company histories, financial data, and SEC filings for publicly traded companies from hundreds of industries. Includes features to create comparisons. Complete full text available.
Entrepreneurship (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Covers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more. Contains periodical and reference content.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Search national and regional newspapers from the U.S. and other countries. Includes The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Financial Times, The Salt Lake Tribune, Deseret News, and more.
Small Business Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Resource for small business owners and those interested in starting a business. Includes periodicals and reports, sample business plans, U.S. tax forms, videos and reference books. Offers supports in planning, financing, managing a business and exit strategies. Search within specific Business Topics and Business Types. Full text available.

Small Business Administration Business Guide
Get tips and resources on planning, launching, managing, and growing a small business.
Small Business Development Center (UVU)
This UVU program offers free services and resources for Utah-based small business owners. Provides advising, training, workshops, and mentoring along with document templates and links for useful websites.

OneSearch

OneSearch is the Fulton Library's main database. It allows you to search the library's articles, books, streaming media, and more. OneSearch includes resources on almost every topic, making it a great place to start your research!

To use OneSearch, go to the UVU Fulton Library Homepage link below. OneSearch is the main search box on the page. Enter search terms into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass. Once your search runs, you can filter your results clicking the All Filters button that appears below the search box.