Below are the most used resources for finding company information. Covers databases and web resources to help you find information about the company you are researching.
Make sure to visit company websites. SEC filings and annual reports are often made available on the Investor Relations page of company websites.
**Public company information is usually easier to find because U.S. federal law requires them to disclose certain types of information. In contrast, private companies are not under the same requirements, which makes it more difficult to find similar information.**
For additional information visit the Company Research Guide:
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Statistical & research data.
Focuses on global business and financial information. Offers company histories, financial data, and SEC filings for publicly traded companies.Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Statistical & data research.
Features large private company business and financial intelligence. Provides data on major, non-publicly traded corporations. The welcome page asks you to login, which offers a more personal experience, but you may click "direct access" to proceed without an account.Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Search national and regional newspapers from the U.S. and other countries. Includes The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Financial Times, The Salt Lake Tribune, Deseret News, and more.Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Search newspapers from the United States and Canada.Most public companies in the U.S. are required to disclose information about their finances and operations as SEC filings.
The 10-K and the 10-Q have the most detailed information about a company's finances.