Research Guides: Entrepreneurship: Funding &amp; Pitching

Introduction to Funding & Pitching

Below are the most used resources in funding and pitching. Some are databases, whereas others are books or web resources to help you find funding or creating your pitch.

Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers economics, business, accounting, management, and related subjects. Includes academic journals, trade publications, company annual reports, dissertations, and working papers, plus country profiles and economic forecasts.
OneSearch [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Videos. Audio Recordings.
OneSearch is the default search on the Fulton Library’s homepage. Includes the library’s books and videos, articles from many library databases, and more.
Entrepreneurship [Gale] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Covers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more. Contains periodical and reference content.

Books and Ebooks

This list is only a starting point of commonly used books in this area, not a complete list of library books on the subject. To find other books on this subject, enter a few search terms in OneSearch on the library's homepage.

Funded: Entrepreneur's Guide to Raising Your First Round (Ebook) by Katherine Hague
Publication Date: 2016
With this book, you'll learn what it takes to successfully raise a round of funding for your company. It explains how the venture capital industry works and walks you through each step necessary to plan, execute, and optimize your own fundraising round. Packed full of exercises, checklists, and templates, the book guides you through the process from start to finish. It's ideal for entrepreneurs raising later rounds of capital, as well as those just starting out.
Raising Capital (Ebook) by Andrew J. Sherman
Publication Date: 2012
Packed with tools for building business plans, preparing loan proposals, drafting offering materials, and more, Raising Capital covers every phase of the growth cycle and helps readers navigate the murky waters of capital formation.
Crowd Funding Services Handbook (Ebook) by Jason R. Rich
Publication Date: 2014
This book offers a step-by-step overview of the various crowdsource funding services available on the web, as well as the necessary documentation required to launch a successful crowdfunding campaign. Contains details on how to evaluate and select the best online platform for crowdfunding efforts. It provides details on creating a business plan to the specifications required to raise capital via crowdfunding. It provides an overview of the financial projections that will be required for a crowdfunding initiative and proposes a specific approach to creating a "pitch video" to succeed with a crowdsource funding campaign.
Women's Small Business Start-Up Kit (Print Book) by Peri Pakroo
Publication Date: 2020
The award-winning guide for any woman starting or running a business. Learn how to: draft a solid business plan raise start-up money choose a legal structure and hire employees manage finances and taxes qualify for special certification programs and contracts for women-owned businesses, and efficiently market and brand your business online and off. Updated to cover the latest IRS rules, changes to the Affordable Care Act, and legal developments on classifying workers and online sales tax.

Finding Books

This list is only a starting point of commonly used books in this area, not a complete list of library books on the subject. To find other books on this subject, use the search box on the library's homepage. To find other books on this subject, use the search box on the library's homepage. The search box defaults to OneSearch. To look for books, toggle over to Books. This will limit your search to books and ebooks.

Finding Books: UVU Fulton Library Homepage
Use the search box on the library's homepage to search for more books. Enter a few search terms, a title, or an author into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass. Once your search runs, you can filter your results by clicking the All Filters button, located just below the search box.

Web Resources

Entrepreneur Pitch Workbook
Canaan Partners, a venture capital investment firm, has put together an actionable guide to help entrepreneurs clearly communicate their business ideas.
All the Public Startup Pitch Decks in One Place
Andy Sparks (co-founder and CEO at Holloway) shares actual fundraising pitch decks for well-known established companies.
How to Pitch to a VC (TED U Talk)
Thinking startup? David S. Rose's rapid-fire TED U Talk on pitching to a venture capitalist tells you the 10 things you need to know about yourself—and prove to a VC—before you fire up your slideshow.

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123