Research Guides: Entrepreneurship: Industry &amp; Market Information

Introduction to Industry and Market Information

Below are the most used resources for finding industry and market information. Some are databases, whereas others are books or web resources to help you find information about the industry and market you are researching.

Databases

IBISWorld Industry Database [IBISWorld] This link opens in a new window
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Statistical & research data.
This comprehensive collection focuses on economic data and industry research. Features demographic and government data, plus industry market research and industry risk ratings.
ABI/INFORM Collection [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers economics, business, accounting, management, and related subjects. Includes academic journals, trade publications, company annual reports, dissertations, and working papers, plus country profiles and economic forecasts.
OneSearch [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Videos. Audio Recordings.
OneSearch is the default search on the Fulton Library’s homepage. Includes the library’s books and videos, articles from many library databases, and more.
Global Newsstream [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Search national and regional newspapers from the U.S. and other countries. Includes The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Financial Times, The Salt Lake Tribune, Deseret News, and more.
SAGE Journals [Sage] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on business, humanities, law, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine. Includes journal articles.
Business Insights: Global [Gale] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Statistical & Research Data.
Dedicated to international business topics and deep research coverage of global economies. Provides detailed company and industry profiles, company histories, industry essays, case studies, scholarly journals, and more.

Books and Ebooks

This list is only a starting point of commonly used books in this area, not a complete list of library books on the subject. To find other books on this subject, enter a few search terms in OneSearch on the library's homepage.

Handbook of Market Research (Ebook) by Christian Homburg, Martin Klarmann, and Arnd Vomberg (Eds)
Publication Date: 2021
In this handbook, scholars outline the current state-of-the-art of quantitative and qualitative market research. They discuss focal approaches to market research and guide readers in their real-life applications. Data-related topics comprise chapters on experimental design, survey research methods, international market research, panel data fusion, and endogeneity. Method-oriented chapters look at a wide variety of data analysis methods relevant to market research, including chapters on regression, structural equation modeling (SEM), conjoint analysis, and text analysis. Application chapters focus on specific topics relevant for market research such as customer satisfaction, customer retention modeling, return on marketing, and return on price promotions.
Market Research in Practice (Print Book) by Paul Hague
Publication Date: 2022
Learn the fundamentals of market research from planning a project and executing it, what tools to use, through to analysis, and presenting the findings. Market Research in Practice provides a practical and robust introduction to the subject, providing a clear step-by-step guide to managing market research and how to effectively obtain the most reliable results. Written by an industry expert with over 35 years of practical experience in running a successful market research agency. Tips and advice are included throughout to ground the concepts in business reality. This text also benefits from real-world examples from companies including Adidas, Marks & Spencer, Grohe, and General Motors.
Industry surveys / CFRA powered by data from S&P Global (Print) by CFRA
Publication Date: 2010-Present
CFRA's financial data provider is S&P Global Market Intelligence. The company is one of the world’s largest providers of independent financial and investment research and their industry surveys are some of the most regarded intelligence on the market. CFRA's Industry Surveys cover industry trends, forecasts, major players and market share data, key ratios, and statistics.
Questionnaire Design (Print Book) by Ian Brace
Publication Date: 2013
Questionnaire Design explains the role of questionnaires in market research and looks at different types of questionnaires, examining when and how they should be deployed. The book explains how to plan, structure, and compose the right questionnaire for the research being undertaken.
Understanding Business Research (Print Book) by Bart L. Weathington, Christopher J. L. Cunningham, and David J. Pittenger
Publication Date: 2012
Explore the essential steps for data collection, reporting, and analysis in business research. This book offers a comprehensive introduction to the entire process of designing, conducting, interpreting, and reporting findings in the business environment. With an emphasis on the human factor, the book presents a complete set of tools for tackling complex behavioral and social processes that are a part of data collection in industry settings.
Women's Small Business Start-Up Kit (Print Book) by Peri Pakroo
Publication Date: 2020
The award-winning guide for any woman starting or running a business. Learn how to: draft a solid business plan raise start-up money choose a legal structure and hire employees manage finances and taxes qualify for special certification programs and contracts for women-owned businesses, and efficiently market and brand your business online and off. Updated to cover the latest IRS rules, changes to the Affordable Care Act, and legal developments on classifying workers and online sales tax.

Finding Books

This list is only a starting point of commonly used books in this area, not a complete list of library books on the subject. To find other books on this subject, use the search box on the library's homepage. To find other books on this subject, use the search box on the library's homepage. The search box defaults to OneSearch. To look for books, toggle over to Books. This will limit your search to books and ebooks.

Finding Books: UVU Fulton Library Homepage
Use the search box on the library's homepage to search for more books. Enter a few search terms, a title, or an author into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass. Once your search runs, you can filter your results by clicking the All Filters button, located just below the search box.

Web Resources

Market Research and Competitive Analysis (SBA)
This is a good starting place for new businesses. It is a resource by the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) on how to do market research and competitive analysis to find customers for your business and make your business unique.
NAICS & SIC Identification Tools
Find your industry code to use for searching various databases and sites. Look up an industry to find an overview, examples, and top businesses by annual sales for that industry.
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
NAICS provides industry codes in North America (Canada, United States, and Mexico). Enter the name of the industry or other search terms to describe the business idea in the search box. You can also browse by clicking on the 2017 NAICS link. Open the industry sector that is closest to what you are looking for and read the description of the industry at the 2-digit level. If this looks like the right area, then browse the industries listed, opening the ones that look promising.
Census Business Builder (CBB)
The Census Business Builder (CBB) is a suite of services that provide selected demographic and economic data from the Census Bureau tailored to specific types of users in a simple to access and use.
County Business Patterns (CBP)
Detailed economic data at the county level, useful for analyzing market potential.

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123